State Workforce Development Board Members

The State Workforce Development Board (SWDB) is compromised of a majority of business leaders. Other members include legislator of the South Carolina Senate and House, local elected officials, workforce partners and representatives of community-based organizations. Members of the board are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Governor. 

Amended State Workforce Development Board Bylaws effective as of June 28, 2022


Executive Leadership

James W Snead

James W. Snead
Cooper Standard

Dr. Windsor Sherrill

Dr. Windsor Sherrill
Clemson University

Patrick Michaels

Patrick Michaels
Goodwill Industries of the Upstate/Midlands
South Carolina

John Uprichard

John Uprichard
Find Great People (FGP)

Thomas Freeland

Thomas Freeland
Door System, part of ASSA ABLOY


Val Richards

Val S. Richardson
Prisma Health 


Charles Brave

Charles Brave, Jr.
American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)


William Floyd

William Floyd
SC Department of Employment and Workforce

State Workforce Development Board Members

Honorable Henry McMaster
SC Governor's Office

COL(R) Craig Currey
Transitions Homeless Center, South Carolina

Gregory Cannon Clark
Wells Fargo

Mike King
SC Department of Education

Senator Ross Turner
South Carolina Senate

Windsor W. Sherrill
Clemson University 

Gregory L. Tinnell

Felicia W. Johnson
SC Vocational Rehabilitation Department

Tyler Servant
Horry County Council District 5

Dr. Tim Hardee
SC Technical College System

Susan H. Cohen
SC Restaurant and Lodging Association

Cliff Bourke Jr.
Southeastern Freight Lines, Inc.

Michael W. Sexton
Piedmont Bushings and Insulators, LLC, Woodruff

Darline Graham
SC Commission for the Blind

Elaine Morgan
Berkeley Chamber of Commerce

Swati Patel
The Boeing Company

Jay Holloway
OCS Garage Doors & Hurricane Protection

James C. Hall

Representative Randy Ligon 
SC House of Representatives, District 43

Senator Ross Turner
SC Senate, District 8